Africa: Rafiki

Back in August, when I was wondering what this experience was going to be like, I wondered what kinds of friends I would make

I had an idea, but didn’t think I would become so close to a group of people in three weeks’ time.  Three years in Samoa is one thing, but three weeks in Tanzania is another.  I was pleasantly surprised by some of these women (and a few local friends) and have grown to love them very much.  Even when it’s a rough day, someone’s ready with a smile or a hug or a stupid inside joke (of which there are many) that will make me laugh.

So, to my Hakuna Penda/Internet Cafe crew, you know who you are.  Thank you and Asante Sana for everything.  You helped make this trip everything it was and I look forward to seeing you all back in TZ or somewhere in the states (or NZ!!).

Upendo kaisi,
Jeska Tuleeni/Jessica Hawaii/Mama Sita

One thought on “Africa: Rafiki

  1. hakuna taco!!!!
    i miss you so. and you have no idea what an inspiration you are!
    ive been researching, and get nothing but positive responses and I cant wait to talk to you more!!! i hope all is well at home, and students are treating you great! if not let me know, me and the wahhh tai tai tai tai crew will come kick some taco!
    Jeska Amka

Leave a Reply

