Africa: Away for the Holidays… Again.

It’s not quite Thanksgiving and I’m already over the holidays.  We all bitch and moan and then bitch and moan some more about how the holidays have lost their meaning, blah blah blah yet everybody’s out at the mall/craft fair/whathaveyou, buying up all kinds of goodies. I’m not opposed to receiving a gift or two for a holiday I don’t really celebrate for what is technically someone else’s birthday, but that stuff just gets out of control.  (And thanks mom and dad for sending me my Christmas stuffs before I leave! Haha.)

I haven’t been home to Ohio for Christmas in a long time.  The last time I attempted a trip, there was a blizzard and I got stuck in O’hare and almost didn’t make it.  It was horrendous.  I usually love travel, but that time of year with all of the potential for bad weather and short tempers is just a recipe for disaster.  Or maybe I just have bad luck traveling to Ohio – the last time I was home there was a crazy ice storm.  Maybe it’s a good thing I’ve been making the family travel to me for a few years now.  They certainly don’t seem to mind.

But, back to the original thought here… while this trip to Africa was largely planned over this time period because it is my break from school, it is also largely an attempt to get away from the over-marketed madness known as Christmas.  There will be some Christian celebrations around me I’m sure, but there is also a large Muslim population so I’m hoping it will be a rather laid back affair, if any.

Will I be homesick?  Sure.  There’s always a certain amount of nostalgia that comes with the childhood mind’s eye of the holidays and other memories.  My little brother still wanting to believe in Santa so bad, the Christmas Eve children’s mass at St. Rose, begging to open one present on Christmas Eve before going to bed, baking a zillion cookies with my grandmother, even going to the ER one year for Christmas after an unfortunate popcorn stringing incident.  That’s what I think of when I think about the holidays – not what present someone got me or being pissed off while fighting my way through crowds at Ala Moana.

So whatever you end up doing for the holidays – enjoy them and don’t get caught up in the madness.  I won’t if you won’t.

Leave a Reply

