Africa: Zanzibar? Safari? Both?

I’m going to have two free weekends while in Tanzania.  The question is, what am I going to do on those weekends?  I’ve been doing some research and have come up with a few possibilities…

Normally, when I hear someone say Zanzibar, I make a face because it is the name of a horrible Waikiki nightclub.  But I’m talking about the real Zanzibar – the island off the coast of Tanzania that sits in the Indian Ocean.  I kinda have to put my feet in the Indian Ocean while I’m there, right?  And it’s going to be hot. And I’m used to living on an island so it will help me with any homesickness I’m having.  I could come up with any list of reasons as to why I need to make this side trip, but since I’m going to be all the way over there… how can I not?!?  It appears to be a relatively cheap/easy trip for the weekend and I’ll be able to do some research here before I go, and it sounds like the in-country folks with CCS have all of the scoops for us as well, which will be helpful.  This may be the closest part to a “vacation” that this volunteer vacation will be.  And this looks like quite a view.

The other thing I can’t really go to Tanzania and not do, is a safari.  It won’t be a full week long or anything like that, but it appears there are plenty of weekend packages and lots of places to go: several nearby wildlife conservation areas, including Ngorongoro Crater (also referred to sometimes as the 8th natural wonder of the world).  It looks amazing, and worth checking out. With lots of amazing photo ops like the one here.  I better go get some more memory cards soon!  I’m a little bit scared about all of the pictures I’m going to be taking!

Needless to say, there are some fun and adventure-filled weekends to look forward to!

Leave a Reply

