Africa: Tears and Threats

This blog entry is dedicated to a friend.  Who cries more than I do.  And who has threatened me with everything short of (and at this point I think, including) death, should I not return to Hawai`i after my trip.

I’ve gotta be honest.  I’ve thought about the possibilities.  Of finally having the Africa experience that so many jobs are looking for.  Of the networking I’ll be able to do.  Cross Cultural Solutions alone looks amazing – and an organization that I could definitely work for.  The HIV/AIDS work – meeting people who are doing the work regularly in the field and getting their thoughts on things.

At the same time, while I procrastinate the dissertation look for jobs – I look mostly in the Pacific and in Hawai`i.  This place is home now.  November will be our 8 year anniversary.
Someone asked me earlier today if I had any desire to go back to the continent.  My response is typically: “Um, you have to dress up there…. and wear shoes… and it snows, so maybe if someone offered me a dream job and paid me a bunch of money.  But only maybe and I wouldn’t stay there forever.”

I’ve gotten spoiled here.  I have friends and networks and a way of life that works.  I’m not rich.  I’m not going to be able to afford a house by myself.  Maybe a condo.   And I’m totally okay with that.  I get year round summer.  I wear flip-flops to work.  There’s mango season. There’s the ocean.  There are lots of intangibles too.  I may not be at the beach everyday, but I can go if I really need to.

So my drunk tearful friend.  No worries.  At least not too many.
I’ll never love this island as much as you do, but I sure do love it a lot.

One thought on “Africa: Tears and Threats

  1. OH THE TEARS!!! Don’t make me cry at work…although if I do start I am sure my boss will understand, for I believe she shares my same sentiment for you.

    Despite all the melodrama that is about to ensue on my part leading up to your departure, know that I am so happy for you and how your dreams of going to Africa are finally coming true.

    “Sooner or later we must realize there is no station, no one place to arrive at once and for all. The true joy of life is the trip.” – The Station by Robert Hastings….maybe I should take some of this advice, no?

    Thanks for the blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

